Blame it on The Wanted

2db6d4dde102cd6027989c3c0554e81c

 That I have lived a million lifetimes

without your permission;

That i have stopped apologising for existing,

and because i offended you by taking my name back,

despite not having your OK –

you can blame that on The Wanted.

They were just a group of five singers,

whose eyes never saw my face;

whose ears never heard my voice

and never came to know the soul within me.

They were just a group of five singers to whom

my name was but an arrangement of letters

But they still understood better than you:

they knew it would take more than super glue,

so they sewed me back together

one lyric,

one melody,

one beat at a time

until they had me dancing in hurricanes

like no one was watching; until they had me

living like life was tailor made for me.

So, tonight if I fall asleep to better dreams,

it’s because I spent the moments of my wakefulness

in the body of an angel.

If I am a little too loud for you,

if I come across more honest that usual,

screaming truths you’re unused to –

then blame it on The Wanted

Leave a comment